Sallie bird

Painting a wall mural

Painting a wall mural

Hi Bird Watchers! It’s Sallie bird. If you saw the small bio of me, you know I’m an art teacher by education. Every art teacher I know has a favorite medium, and I’m no exception. Mine happens to be paint. There’s something magical to me about paint- the fluidity of the medium, the smell of it, the quiet rhythm of bristles over a surface, how it can transform the most plain paper, or the most hideous furniture into a thing of beauty. I truly believe that everything looks better when you frame it, and most things look better when you paint it. As a sidebar, I have a hard time understanding when people have a fear of paint. It’s PAINT. Make a mistake? Paint over it. Twice if you need to.
Private Client, Loudoun County, VA

Private Client, Loudoun County, VA

My first mural was for my best friend’s mom. She knew my background and asked me if I could paint a mural for her. That was about 11 years ago, and the rest is history. I’ve done murals under the business name The Gilded Lily for homes and businesses throughout Loudoun, Fairfax and Fauquier counties. I LOVE nurseries and children’s rooms (so fun!) and most notably have a mural in the Rust Manor House in Leesburg that was featured in the 2008 Loudoun County Design Showcase.
house

Loudoun County Design Showcase House, Rust Manor House, Leesburg, VA.  Dining Room


Loudoun County Design Showcase House, Rust Manor House, Leesburg, VA. Dining Room

I’ve been so fortunate to paint commissioned murals and watercolors, but 4 Calling birds is about my own vision. What I think would look amazing. How I’d like to transform a piece of furniture into something beautiful. Something that someone would like to have in their home, and choose to look at every day.

Generous George's Pizza Place, Dulles, VA

Generous George’s Pizza Place, Dulles, VA

So here I am- using my dining room as my painting studio (I have a very patient husband), and turning trash into treasure! I love when a piece speaks to me, and it’s my job to give it new life.hutch

Leave a comment